## Facts about Mississippi's Seventh Circuit Court District and its Jurisdiction

Our Circuit Court comprises the Seventh (7<sup>th</sup>) Circuit Court District for the State of Mississippi. We are a court established under the Mississippi Constitution, along with the Mississippi Supreme Court and the State's Chancery court The Circuit Court sits exclusively in Hinds County, Mississippi.

Hinds County has two(2) judicial districts of the circuit court that encompasses ten(10) cities. The First Judicial District includes the cities of Jackson (the State's capital city), Terry, Byram, Clinton and Pocahontas, Mississippi. The Second Judicial District includes Edwards, Bolton, Utica, Pocahontas and Raymond, Mississippi. There are four (4) state circuit judges that serve the two (2) judicial districts in Hinds County, Mississippi. Collectively, they dispose of nearly four (4) thousand civil, criminal cases, and appeals annually.

The Seventh Circuit Court is a trial court where the circuit judges presides over all felony criminal prosecutions and civil lawsuits where damages claimed exceed \$250,000 filed in Hinds County. The Circuit Court has concurrent jurisdiction with justice and county courts.

The Circuit Court judges preside in trials with a 12-member jury, and usually one or two alternate jurors. A judge may preside in a case without a jury, if the dispute between parties is authorized by Mississippi law or if there are only questions of law, rather than fact to be determined by juries.

The Circuit Court also acts as an appellate court for appeals from Justice, County and Municipal courts and from administrative boards and commissions such as the Board of Supervisors and Alderpersons, Mississippi Department of Employment Security (MDES) and the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS).

Statewide, there are 53 circuit court judges who serve 22 circuit court districts across the State of Mississippi. The number of Circuit Judges per district ranges from one to four. Circuit Court judges are selected in non-partisan elections to serve for four-year terms.